人口贩卖的罪行,通过受害者的眼睛讲述。

这些是幸存者知情的生活经历,对现实生活中的情况和事件的复合叙述。 你能找出是什么让安东尼奥经历了人口贩卖吗?

安东尼奥

来到美国寻求一个有前途的机会。

关于餐饮业有组织的劳工贩卖团伙的描述。

我做的一切都是正确的,一切都是合法的。 我通过在线招聘人员获得了工作签证和工作。 我以前在餐馆工作过,我知道我可以在美国赚很多钱,然后寄一些钱给我在墨西哥的父母,帮助养活我的弟弟和妹妹。

我和另外 14 个人从墨西哥开车到德克萨斯州,然后到科罗拉多州。 我和其他几个人住在员工宿舍,我们被带来回工作。 我们总是被监视着。

我已经在这里待了几个月,还没有收到报酬——我们都没有。 当我问起工资 他们说我欠住房。 人贩子经常制造一种债务假象,以便永远不必支付雇员的劳动报酬。 这是一种被称为“债务束缚”的发明系统。

然后,我受到了威胁。 他们明确表示他们 可能会伤害我在墨西哥的家人。贩运者威胁受害者是一种胁迫方式,使他们处于被贩运的境地。

现在,我被迫在不同城市的不同餐厅工作。 我什至不知道我在哪里。 我不被允许与任何人交谈。隔离是贩运者用来使受害者与资源隔绝的一种策略,因此他们无法获得帮助。 我在后面洗碗,没有与任何可以提供帮助的人接触,而且我也不知道可以安全地与谁交谈。

我家里的家人一定很担心我。 我无法给他们打电话或汇款。 我很惭愧我帮不了他们遭受人口贩运的人常常对处于自己的处境感到羞耻并责备自己,这使他们更难找到摆脱被贩运处境的出路。,我是需要帮助的人。 我现在对他们来说更是一个负担,他们依赖于我。

我的签证现在过期了,我担心我会被驱逐出境。现在,安东尼奥完全被人贩子控制了,他不能在其他任何地方工作。 如果他被驱逐出境,他将失去获得一份高薪工作来帮助家人的机会。 我不想被送回家。 我觉得我辜负了我的家人。 我想要的只是一份体面的工作,能够帮助他们。

你能做什么

The crime of human trafficking, told through the eyes of victims.

These are survivor-informed lived experiences, composite narratives of real-life situations and events. Can you identify what makes Antonio’s experience human trafficking?

Antonio

Came to the U.S. to pursue a promising opportunity.

An account of an organized labor trafficking ring in the restaurant industry.

I did everything right, everything legally. I got my work visa and a job through an online recruiter. I had worked in restaurants before, and I knew I could make good money in the States and send some back to my parents in Mexico to help support my little brother and sister.

I was driven with 14 others from Mexico into Texas and then to Colorado. I live in employee housing with several others and we’re taken back and forth to work. We’re always watched.

I’ve been here for months and haven’t been paid—none of us have. When I asked about pay they said I owed for housing. Traffickers often create an illusion of debt in order to never have to pay the employee for their labor. This is an invented system called “debt bondage”.

Then, I was threatened. They made it clear that they could hurt my family in Mexico.Traffickers threaten victims as a way of coercion to keep them in their trafficked situation.

Now, I’m forced to work in different restaurants, in different cities. I don’t even know where I am. I am not allowed to talk to anyone.Isolation is a tactic traffickers use to keep victims cut off from resources so they can’t get help. I wash dishes in the back and have no contact with anyone who could help and I don’t know who is safe to talk to anyway.

My family back home must be worried about me. I haven’t been able to call them or send any money. I am ashamed that I can’t help themPeople experiencing human trafficking often feel shame about being in their situation and blame themselves, making it more difficult for them to find a way out of the trafficked situation., and that I am the one who needs help. I am even more of a burden to them now, and they were depending on me.

My visa is expired now and I’m afraid I will be deported.Now, Antonio is totally controlled by the trafficker, he can’t work anywhere else. If he’s deported, he will lose the opportunity to have a good paying job to help his family. I don’t want to be sent home. I feel like I failed my family. All I want is a decent job to be able to help them.

WHAT CAN YOU DO