人口贩卖的罪行,通过受害者的眼睛讲述。

这些是幸存者知情的生活经历,对现实生活中的情况和事件的复合叙述。 你能找出布赖恩经历人口贩卖的原因吗?

布赖恩

布赖恩需要一份工作和一个属于自己的团体。

旅游销售人员行业中的劳动力交易记录。

我报名了一份被描述为有销售机会的工作,在外面工作,薪水优厚,旅游,有趣,年轻人,外加 500 美元的签约奖金。 对我来说听起来很棒; 我父母把我赶出去的时候 我告诉他们我是同性恋。处于弱势的人更容易被人贩子利用。 我需要一份工作。 我需要一个家庭。

我和销售人员住在路上,住在汽车旅馆和出租屋里。 起初,这是一个美好的时光。 卖完后我们会喝醉或发疯,每天我们都会聚会。 不过事情变化很快。 我们有仪式和游戏让我们在 12 小时、90 度的天里敲门时兴奋起来。 谁卖得最少, 被打倒 身体上的伤害是一种力量,即使它只是伪装成工作的一部分。 那天晚上跟团,(不打脸,因为第二天还要卖)。 他们表现得好像这只是派对生活方式的一部分。

船员领导 拿走了我们赚的钱 这是胁迫,因为人贩子正在制造受害者无法离开的局面,说我们欠煤气、食物和房间的费用。 没有签约奖金。 这是欺诈。 布莱恩被承诺提供丰厚的薪水和签约奖金,但两者都没有得到。 他们甚至拿走了我们的手机。 这就像一个邪教。 我们一直 被监视。 不断受到监视是一种强制形式,可以让你处于糟糕的境地。

当我没有达到我的销售配额时,我是最后一个吃饭,不得不睡在地板上,不得不支付当天所有的汽油费,或者不得不留在面包车里所以我卖不出去, 让我更多地陷入困境。 这也是胁迫,让布赖恩欠他们的债是他们计划的一部分。

我没有销售许可证,并被引诱进行招揽。 我的组长不让我出庭。 现在有一个 逮捕我。 这是另一种形式的胁迫,让布赖恩更加依赖他的人贩子。

我的船员离开了我 这对于已经被家人遗弃,现在又再次经历创伤的布莱恩来说,尤其痛苦。 它展示了贩运者将如何使用您的个人信息来对付您。 当我摔断脚踝时,我在路边跑向面包车。

我无处可去。

你能做什么

The crime of human trafficking, told through the eyes of victims.

These are survivor-informed lived experiences, composite narratives of real-life situations and events. Can you identify what makes Brian’s experience human trafficking?

Brian

Brian needed a job and a group to belong to.

An account of labor trafficking in the industry of traveling sales crews.

I signed up for a job that was described as a sales opportunity, working outside, excellent pay, travel, and fun, young people, plus a $500 signing bonus. It sounded great to me; My parents kicked me out when I told them I was gay.People in vulnerable situations are at a greater risk of being exploited by a trafficker. I needed a job. I needed a family.

I lived with the sales crew on the road, in motels and rentals. At first, it was a good time. We’d get drunk or high after selling, every day we’d party. Things changed fast though. We had rituals and games to get us psyched up for 12-hour, 90-degree days knocking on doors. Whoever sold the least, was beaten down Being physically harmed is force, even if it’s disguised as just part of the job. by the group that night, (no face punches, because we still had to sell the next day). They acted like it was just part of the party lifestyle.

The crew leaders took any money we made This is coercion because the traffickers are creating a situation where the victims can not leave, saying we owed for gas, food and rooms. There was no signing bonus. This is fraud. Brian was promised excellent pay and signing bonus and never got either. They even took our phones. It was like a cult. We were always being watched. Being constantly monitored is a form of coercion to keep you in your bad situation.

When I didn’t meet my sales quota I was the last to eat, had to sleep on the floor, had to pay for all the gas that day, or had to stay in the van so I couldn’t sell, putting me more in the hole. This is also coercion, keeping Brian indebted to them is part of their scheme.

I didn’t have a sales permit, and was cited for solicitation. My crew leader wouldn’t let me show up for court. Now there’s a warrant out for my arrest. This is another form of coercion, keeping Brian even more dependent on his traffickers.

My crew left me This is especially painful for Brian who was already abandoned by his family and now is experiencing the trauma again. It demonstrates how traffickers will use your personal information against you. on the side of the road when I broke my ankle, running for the van.

I have nowhere to go.

WHAT CAN YOU DO