人口贩卖的罪行,通过受害者的眼睛讲述。

这些是幸存者知情的生活经历,对现实生活中的情况和事件的复合叙述。 你能确定是什么造成的 Luke的经历人口贩卖?

Luke

正在寻找一个家和像他这样的人。

一个大型性交易团伙的描述。

我是一个典型的少年。 不像我的一些朋友那么狂野,但我对喝酒、性和尝试不同的事物感到好奇。 我和我的朋友彼得经常聚会,我们就像兄弟一样。 我们一起尝试新事物感到安全。

我的父母虔诚而严格。 因此,当我开始涉足色情片和聚会时,他们对我的打击很大,我一直被禁足,我很痛苦。 我18岁就离开了住房不稳定的年轻人是人口贩子瞄准的弱势群体,他们以安身之所的承诺将他们逼入危险境地。 不考虑后果,我只想要我的自由。

起初它很有趣。 彼得和我去俱乐部,在朋友的沙发上撞车。 我们和一群特殊的人一起出去玩,他们和这位年长的人 SK 住在一起,他们支付了一切费用。 他们中的一些人甚至在手臂上纹了“SK”, 就像他们被打上烙印一样。 贩运者有时会给受害者打上烙印,以表明他们“拥有”他们,或者以纹身的承诺作为奖励。 (纹身很常见,而且不仅仅与人口贩运有关。)

随着时间的推移,彼得和我开始和其他人一起去 SK,现在我们住在那里。 他让我们玩电子游戏和聚会。 他甚至为家人做大餐,让它感觉像一个家。 SK 购买食物、衣服、药物、酒精、电话——所有这些。 还有很多性爱。贩运者可以获取正常利益并加以利用,将其用作控制、操纵和威胁的方式。 男人和女人不断地过来。

我现在意识到免费留在 SK 意味着我们欠他性。 要么和他在一起,要么和其他“约会对象”一起赚钱。 或者,如果我们把新男孩带回家给他 人贩子强迫受害者从事非法活动,利用他们作为招聘人员,所以他们也不能去警察局,因为他们害怕自证其罪。 然后他可以从他们身上赚钱,我们可以休息一下。

我想离开。 彼得认为这不安全。 SK控制着钱和我们。 我曾经想要的只是自由。这表明离开是多么困难。 彼得和 Luke 没有钱也无处可去,独自生存非常具有挑战性。

你能做什么

The crime of human trafficking, told through the eyes of victims.

These are survivor-informed lived experiences, composite narratives of real-life situations and events. Can you identify what makes Luke’s experience human trafficking?

Luke

Was looking for a home and people like him.

An account of a mid-scale sex trafficking ring.

I was a typical teenager. Not as wild as some of my friends, but I was curious about drinking, sex, and experimenting with different things. I partied a lot with my friend Peter, we were like brothers. We felt safe trying new things together.

My parents were religious and strict. So when I started getting into porn and partying they came down on me pretty hard, I was grounded all the time, and I was miserable. I left when I turned 18Young people with unstable housing are a vulnerable population that traffickers target, coercing them into a dangerous situation with the promise of a place to live. not considering the consequences, I just wanted my freedom.

At first it was fun. Peter and I went to clubs, crashing on friends’ couches. We hung out with a particular group of guys who lived with this older guy, SK, who paid for everything. Some of them even had “SK” tattooed on their arms, like they were branded. Traffickers sometimes brand their victims to signal they “own” them, or use the promise of a tattoo as a reward. (Tattoos are very common and not solely associated with human trafficking.)

Over time, Peter and I started going to SK’s with the other guys and now we live there. He lets us play video games and party. He even cooks big family meals to make it feel like a home. SK buys food, clothes, drugs, alcohol, phones—all of it. There’s also a lot of sex.Traffickers can take a normal interest and exploit it, using it as a way to control, manipulate, and threaten. Men and women come over constantly.

I realize now that staying for free at SK’s means we owe him sex. Either with him, or with other “dates” so he can make money. Or, if we bring new boys home to him Traffickers force victims into illegal activity, using them as recruiters, so they can’t go to the police for fear of incriminating themselves, too. then he can make money off of them and we can get a break.

I want to leave. Peter doesn’t think it’s safe. SK controls the money and us. All I ever wanted was to be free.This demonstrates how hard it is to just leave. Peter and Luke have no money and nowhere to go, making it very challenging to survive on their own.

WHAT CAN YOU DO